History of the Oakland Comitium

Merely twenty years from the formation and foundation of the Legion of Mary in Dublin Ireland, on September 7, 1921, the Oakland Curia was formed and affiliated to the San Francisco Comitium. Early records indicated, that in 1959, Sister Mary Foudy of the San Francisco Comitium and Sister Vicky Cotter, president of the Oakland Curia had attended a meeting at the Los Angeles Senatus. Soon after, the San Francisco Comitium who was then directly reporting to the Concilium, was affiliated to the Los Angeles Senatus and because of this, the Oakland Curia was made to report to Los Angeles  beginning in 1962 to 2004. During the year 1962, the Oakland Curia was elevated to the status of a Comitium under the Los Angeles Senatus.  In 2004, when the San Francisco Comitium was elevated as Senatus, Oakland and San Francisco, were 'reunited' as the Oakland Comitium was now affiliated to the San Francisco Senatus. It should not be a surprise to anyone that the relationship of the Legion of Mary in San Francisco and Oakland could be traced back to relationship of the Archdiocese of San Francisco and the Diocese of Oakland. In 1853 (under Archbishop Alemany, a Dominican priest), parishes in Oakland and its major counties of Alameda and Contra Costa were part of the Archdiocese of San Francisco. It was only in 1962, when the growth of population in Northern California posed major administrative challenges to the Church, that the Holy See formed three new dioceses of Oakland, Santa Rosa and Stockton. Here are some of the key milestones in the rich history of the Oakland Comitium:

  • 1935 - First praesidium in San Leandro (Alameda County) was formed.
  • 1938 – San Francisco Curia formed, praesidia in Alameda County attached to San Francisco Curia
  • 1941 Oakland Curia formed, attached to San Francisco Comitium
  • 1959  Oakland Curia President Vicky Cotter attends newly formed Los Angeles Senatus together with San Francisco Comitium President Mary Foudy
  • May 1962  Ed Miller joins the Legion of Mary
  • 1962    Oakland diocese created,  Oakland Curia raised to Oakland Comitium with curiae in Oakland diocese attached to it (West Contra Costa Curia, East Contra Costa Curia, others?)  Oakland Comitium attached to Los Angeles Senatus
  • 1962 to 2004 Comitium attached to Los Angeles Senatus
  • 2004 to present  Comitium attached to San Francisco Senatus

Oakland Comitium Meeting Schedule

Meetings are held every First Sunday of the month at 2:00 p.m. at SACRED HEART CATHOLIC CHURCH (Social Hall) - 4025 Martin Luther King Jr. Way, Oakland, CA 94609

Past Presidents of the Oakland Comitium

  • Ed Miller, probably from 1970-1976
  • Robert Lauriston probably from 1976 to 1982, and possibly for another two terms 1988-1994
  • Evelina Riley January 2005 to December 2010
  • Connie Limtiaco -January 2011 to January 2013
  • Teresita de la Paz January 2014 to December 2019
  • Debbie Perenboom January 2020 to February 2021
  • Ricardo Echon acting March 2021 to July 2021
  • Priscilla Abaya August 2021 to present (ratified September 2021)

Parishes and Councils of the Oakland Comitium

Directly reporting under the Oakland Comitium are eight praesidia from the following parishes: 

  • Our Lady Mother of the Church of St Patrick Church Rodeo (founded October 1982)
  • Our Lady of the Rosary of Saint Joseph Basilica Alameda (founded January 11, 1984)
  • Our Lady Queen of Heaven and Earth of Sacred Heart Church, Oakland (founded January 1997)
  • Our Lady. Of Divine Grace of St Philip Neri Church and St Albert the Great Church Alameda (founded May 18, 2009)
  • Our Lady of Fatima of St Jarlath Church Alameda (founded May 15, 2015)
  • Our Lady of Evangelization of St Teresa Catholic Church   Oakland (founded September 6, 2015)
  • Our Lady of Good Voyage of St. Barnabas (founded 2018)
  • Our Lady of Assumption of St Joseph the Worker Catholic Church, Berkeley (founding date: unknown) 


Councils Affiliated to Oakland Comitium and Officers  

Tri Valley Curia (Foundation Date: May 2017 - 5 Seniors and 2 Juniors)

Position Name of Officer
Spiritual Director Reverend Father Ryan Dellota
President Ricardo Echon
Vice President Coren Marcia
Secretary Open
Treasurer Nellie Strawn

Southern Alameda Curia (Foundation Date: March 1963 - 16 Seniors and 1 Junior)

Position Name of Officer
Spiritual Director Reverend Father Rolando Bartolay
President Georgie Dwonch
Vice President Milda Dela Rosa
Secretary Naty Rinovitz
Treasurer Beth Cervantes

Oakland Chinese Curia (Foundation Date: April 3, 2010 - 3 Seniors and 1 Junior)

Position Name of Officer
Spiritual Director Reverend Father Paulo Liu
President Ka Lok Chan
Vice President Open
Secretary Erica Lee
Treasurer Angela Manxi Zhou

Oakland Spanish Curia (Foundation Date: unknown - 14 seniors)

Position Name of Officer
Spiritual Director Open
President Elva Maco
Vice President Maria Aguilere
Secretary Andrea Vargas
Treasurer Esdeyve Chavez

East Contra Costa Curia (Foundation Date: unknown - 8 seniors)

Position Name of Officer
Spiritual Director Open
President Danila Locquiao
Vice President Bob Keifer
Secretary Anne Crisp
Treasurer Carmen Martinez